Answered By: Nadia Woods
Last Updated: Feb 01, 2024     Views: 16

The Library’s collections are classified into 3 main categories: Flagship, Heritage and Teaching and Research.

Collections which retain a focus on teaching and research needs, but also have a national or international significance. The Library will actively develop these collections, and continue to invest time, effort and resources to ensure they are globally visible, promoted and externally recognised. 

Key features:

  • Built on strong links/long relationships with teaching and research at the University of Liverpool, plus other relevant organisations and bodies.  
  • Unique materials.
  • Rare/special material, including but not limited to Special Collections material pre-1850.
  • Curated, substantial, access, unique classification - dedicated subject expertise. 
  • Diversity, range [including breadth/depth where many individual titles may not be intrinsically rare, value is added in holding significant numbers).   
  • External usage (including Inter-Library Loan) based on all available evidence.
  • External recognition or use of collections in e.g., external digitisation projects.   
  • External interest and engagement.  

Collections which are historically strong and will be retained to supplement areas of teaching and research:

  • As part of institutional history or due to having a national or international importance beyond University of Liverpool. 
  • Historical material related to Teaching & Research category collections where the historical material is deemed to be of significance. 
  • Primarily or exclusively collections that support current teaching, research and clinical practice. They are central in terms of provision of material for staff and students but not of national or international significance.
  • Historical material will not normally be added.
  • Items believed to be unique will be retained. 

Comments (0)

Related Questions

    Browse Topics